One Second After


Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
277
Narrator
109
Release Date
July 2009
Duration
13 hours 18 minutes
Summary
A post-apocalyptic thriller of the after effects in the United States after a terrifying terrorist attack using electromagnetic pulse weapons.

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.

Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based on a real weapon—the electromagnetic pulse (EMP)—which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second.

In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Sharon Gilbert

The premise of book was fascinating yet terrifying . The narration was so realistic that you were completely drawn to the characters and action. A must read!

Profile Avatar
John B

Good read /listen. The very real premese is why I still own a 1964 Scout 4x4, unaffected by EMP. :)

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Great book

Profile Avatar
Kyle H.

Very scary concept, and believable events. I too believe an emp would render America back to the stone age.

Profile Avatar
Stev Wills

Better than I thought it would be. A good read/listen.

Profile Avatar
Chris Gamble

An enjoyable and thought provoking read. I am about to start the sequel!

Profile Avatar
paul didonato

Great book! Makes you think. Scary and thought provoking

Profile Avatar
hayley french

an extremely well thought out book that looks at the realities of an EMP attack. very thought provoking

Profile Avatar
Terry Sandusky

One of the best reads I've had all year!???????? very provocative . Once started couldn't stop!!

Profile Avatar
Nitwit

Great book. The author knows how to keep you interested and the narrator really delivers. Throughout the book I found myself wondering how I would do in such a dire situation.

Profile Avatar
Billy G.

a MUST read !!

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I love the way this book makes you think about how to prepare. A good read for anyone.

Profile Avatar
Aaron W.

Very good book. Depressing but good.

Profile Avatar
Travis B.

Enjoyable and interesting read. Made my long road trip feel shorter!

Profile Avatar
Parrish V.

This is what I would call a true "horror" story. With there being such a real possibility in our world of this actually happenibg.... It really gets you thinking, "What If?" Are you ready? Will you be ready? The only think in this book that lacked for me was the narrator made most of the characters sound old. Other than that, great narrator and very well written. starting book #2 One Year After.

Profile Avatar
Steve Adwell

Ironically as I was reading this book my power at my house went out two times. One day the first time and it's three days so far sill no power. I enjoyed the book the way the story is laid out. Narration was very good. But the big picture is the thought of an EMP attack on our country. I would hope our government would never allow this to happen.

Profile Avatar
Kerrianne Wilson

This book was fantastic - suspenseful, heartbreaking, and particularly frightening. It's scary to think how dependent we are on electronics/technology; as much we like to think that humans are of superior intelligence and are indestructable, we have inadvertently made ourselves an incredibly fragile species as a whole. I found myself looking forward to my drive home so that I could listen to it. The narration was pretty good, though I thought his female impressions were a little cheesy. I would (and already have to friends) 100% recommend this book.

Profile Avatar
Alan Wilson

Riveting. Wish there were more in this series. Felt like I was in the story!

Profile Avatar
Jim Phillips

Great book, thought provoking insight on an EMP event

Profile Avatar
david browne

This book was to be for my commute, but found myself listening at home also. just couldn't stop listening.

Profile Avatar
Bruce Ewald

Excellent. This book is very thought provoking and well written.

Profile Avatar
Amber Sheridan

Amazing book! The reader was perfect! I stayed on the edge of my seat and it was such a struggle to keep this book only for car rides

Profile Avatar
Christine Hull

Disturbing, but dead on! Makes the reader pause and ponder/worry about our future on each page.

Profile Avatar
Dorie Rogers

Excellent book should be required reading for all!

Profile Avatar
Jordan S.

Very informative but did not care for the bad language. Other than that very good book

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Scary, detailed, moving. Wonderful!

Profile Avatar
Deven R.

Can’t say enough of how thrilling, exciting, and scary this book is. Definitely great for entertainment but also a glimpse in a possible reality everyone should be concerned and prepared for. I will definitely re-listen in the future

Profile Avatar
John

very realistic, especially with what is going on in the world today!

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

This is a good book with a realistic and chilling premise given our surrender to technology [electronics].

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Author has a poor understanding of prepping and firearms. Boomer types of writing and tropes. Too many christian themes and ideas about reality.

Profile Avatar
Lois J.

I’ve listened to this book series several times and enjoyed it every time. I enjoy the narrator as well. He is as captivating as the story line. I get lost in it as I’m driving and find myself at my destination before I realize it (than goodness my car knows where I’m going lol) I’ve enjoyed getting to know the characters and learning about about survival as well. Great tips in these books if you pay attention. I can also tell there’s a lot of research that went into writing them as I’m from the area where the story took place. Well written.

Profile Avatar
Christine P.

I selected this book from the long list of VIP titles. I’m a sucker for post apocalyptic and dystopian stories! This novel did not disappoint! It was so good I bought the 2nd and 3rd n the series! I laughed and I cried!! Definitely worthwhile!!

Profile Avatar
Keith K.

Great thought-provoking story. I really enjoyed it!

Profile Avatar
Alberto A.

Way too much dialogue, not very descriptive, and the way action scenes are told in past tense kill the moment-don’t jump forward after the good action stuff and come back describing it-totally kills the mood and ‘flow’ albeit stagnant to begin with. Mediocre at best and not worth the time with hundreds of other great books in this genre available.

Profile Avatar
Lexi Wier

This book is a must read for anyone. Really gives a true picture of what American life could become after an EMP attack.

Profile Avatar
Mark P.

Enjoyed this frightening book.

Profile Avatar
Brad D.

Extremely well done and thought provoking. Also extremely depressing and hopeless.

Profile Avatar
Robin W.

This book so frightened me that it prompted me to lay in about 20 lbs of dried beans. I also keep a close eye on my battery supply. It brings home the horrors of war.

Profile Avatar
Alyssa K.

Great book, gives you a lot too think about

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Very humbling.

Profile Avatar
Juan S.

unlike Tom Clancy he deals with ev eryday people, facing a crisis but pulling together all their talents and knowledge together. In a world where knowledge is power and wisdom give life

Profile Avatar
Ellijah Campbell

I was kept entertained, there some really good parts but the ending was just Terrible.

Profile Avatar
Ginger Velasco

Interesting exploration of an emp's potential effects on American society. Ok plot, ok narrator.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$22.95
View Cart