Revolting People: The Complete Series 1-4: The BBC Radio comedy

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
July 2020
11 hours 12 minutes
All four series of the hilarious historical sitcom set just before and during the American Revolution

Baltimore, 1770, and shopkeeper Samuel Oliphant has much to worry about. Storm clouds are gathering, business is bad, and to make matters worse, he’s been forced to play host to two British soldiers. Hapless officer Captain Brimshaw is decent enough, but his fellow redcoat – the one-eyed, one-eared, one-armed and one-legged Sergeant McGurk – is a shameless rascal obsessed with money and sex.

Adding to Samuel’s troubles are his family – his wife Elizabeth has become a lesbian, his son Joshua is a dimwitted giant, his eldest daughter Cora is in love with the pro-British Ezekiel Spriggs and her sister Mary is an ardent revolutionary…

In these four series, Mary tries to starts a mutiny at her sister’s wedding; Cora falls pregnant – but the marriage isn’t consummated; McGurk turns spy and Ezekiel discovers the truth about his ginger baby (and sets out to find the ginger father). With war fast approaching, Samuel turns his shop into a bar called Sam’s Place and helps an old flame called Ingrid, Cora discovers a gift for penning pornography, and Mary discovers there’s no place like home. And as the revolution hits Baltimore, Ezekiel is kidnapped by rebel militia, Captain Brimshaw attempts to broker peace with George Washington and Samuel and company flee to London. Can they persuade King George III to end the war?

Written by Andy Hamilton and Jay Tarses, who also star as Sergeant McGurk and Samuel Oliphant, this riotously funny comedy boasts a stellar cast including Sophie Thompson, Jan Ravens, Felicity Montagu, James Fleet, Hugh Dennis and Rebecca Front.

Written by and starring Andy Hamilton and Jay Tarses
Produced and directed by Paul Mayhew-Archer
First broadcast BBC Radio 4: 18 January-22 February 2000, (Series 1), 24 April-29 May 2001 (Series 2), 27 May-1 July 2004 (Series 3), 2 May-6 June 2006 (Series 4)
Browse By Category
1 book added to cart
View Cart