Dispatches from Parts Unknown

Dispatches from Parts Unknown

Written by:
Bryan Bliss
Narrated by:
Joy Nash
Coming Soon

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
Narrator
Release Date
May 2024
Duration
10 hours 0 minutes
Summary
Julie knows it’s unusual that a professional wrestler runs a constant commentary on her life that only she can hear. But grief can be awfully funny sometimes. National Book Award nominee Bryan Bliss delivers a thought-provoking, one-of-a-kind novel about how to tread the line between moving on and holding on. Dispatches from Parts Unknown is for fans of David Arnold, Nina LaCour, and You’ve Reached Sam. 

Ever since her dad died three years ago, Julie has been surviving more than thriving. And surviving is sneaking into her parents’ closet when her mom is out, since it’s the only place that still sometimes smells like her dad. It’s roaming around the Mall of America. It’s pulling out the box of her dad’s VHS tapes, recordings of his favorite vintage professional wrestling matches.

And it’s hearing the voice of the Masked Man in her head, running a commentary of her life.

It’s embarrassing, really. Sure, he was her dad’s favorite wrestler, but that doesn’t mean she wants him in her head. And does he really have to comment on everything?

As Julie finally starts to come out of the haze of grief just as her senior year is winding down, maybe she’ll finally figure out why that voice is there, and how to let it go.

National Book Award nominee Bryan Bliss expertly balances dark and light to weave a compelling and ultimately uplifting story that readers will want to revisit again and again. 
1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$27.99
View Cart