The Hunting Party: A Novel


Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
276
Narrator
68
Release Date
February 2019
Duration
10 hours 9 minutes
Summary
Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect...

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Travis A.

Like that they had numerous voice actors

Profile Avatar
Carla B.

Read this after thoroughly enjoying her other book, The Guest List. The format was the same… bring a group of people to an isolated place, raise suspicion on all the characters, keep the murdered victim a secret ‘til the end then the most unsuspected character is revealed as the culprit. So disappointing.

Profile Avatar
Anastasia Z.

I liked this book a lot ! Very good description of characters !

Profile Avatar
Sing S.

Its good

Profile Avatar
Debra B.

Listened to this on my commute. I enjoyed it. Kept me guessing until the end.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

pretty solid murder mystery. Neat trick of the author allows a dual timeline narrative without (completely) giving away the identity of the victim. The characters are particularly horrible people and listening to their worlds fall apart is delightful - I only wish the body count was higher. A full-cast narration is always a treat.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Perfect for holiday reading!

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Could not stop listening- really enjoyed this book. The narration was fantastic.

Profile Avatar
Katie H.

Great twist at the end and kept me interested but was a bit on the too descriptive side.

Profile Avatar
Savannah C.

Narration was wondrous, and the story was presented by the author in the way a classic thriller is supposed to unfold. Absolutely wonderful story telling, from multiple points of view!

Profile Avatar
Cloverlily17

Great story, incredible suspense! I love the changing points of view from different characters, voice by different narrators! I highly recommend!

Profile Avatar
Linda M.

This is a very well constructed who-done-it - so much so, that the reader isn't even sure who was murdered let alone who did it until the very end. The narration is excellent. I like the setting (Scotland at New Year's Eve) and the writer shaped each of the characters to be very different from each other. One feels that one knows Miranda - we have all met her...

Profile Avatar
Kateri E.

Lucy Foley is a great writer. The story was intriguing and the character development was excellent

Profile Avatar
Eva P.

Such a fun book! Perfect for holiday reading!

Profile Avatar
Jeff S.

An okay novel. Accents were great. We had to write down characters to follow and maintain context. Final twist was intriguing - but dragged out to get to it.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$27.99
View Cart