Murder by the Seaside: A completely unputdownable cozy mystery novel


Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
204
Narrator
89
Release Date
June 2023
Duration
10 hours 29 minutes
Summary
“A super cosy mystery, best read on a Sunday afternoon with tea and biscuits” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



“Glued to the pages... the last sentence in the book saw my jaw dropping!” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



Portobello, Scotland. Grace McKenna is just back from a hearty breakfast at The Espy seaside pub when a perplexing mystery arrives at her door. Glamorous widow Sylvia Gordon is determined to find the truth about the death of her husband, Paul. Once a local celebrity with supposed psychic abilities, Paul is now the talk of the town after a deadly fall from the tower at a nearby college. The locals believe it was a tragic accident, maybe even a consequence of dabbling too deep into the psychic realm? But Grace has a feeling there's more than meets the eye…



With the help of Tobias Sloan – a dashing English journalist with a keen appetite for mysteries – Grace starts unravelling the puzzle of Paul's last days. As she digs deeper, it becomes clear that plenty of people had reason to want Paul gone. Both his work and home life were rife with long-held grudges… was one of Paul’s trusted friends actually his murderer?



Then, Grace’s search takes a frightening turn when another body is found – this time in the changing rooms of the posh local golf club.



Uncovering a shocking secret linking the two deaths, Grace finds her professional and personal boundaries beginning to blur. She is left to face not only the ghosts of her own past, but also the prospect of a killer stalking the cobbled lanes of Edinburgh. Can Grace uncover the truth before another innocent life is taken?



A totally unputdownable Scottish mystery, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Clare Chase and Frances Evesham.



What readers are saying about this book:



'I freaking loved it... a seriously brilliant page turner that will have you hooked from start to finish.' Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



“I burst into tears at the end of the book; the scene was both shocking and so good! Murder by the Seaside definitely had me hooked, and I cannot wait to read more in the Grace McKenna series…I really liked this book, and I liked the author's writing style. I cannot wait for more books! A 5++ rating!!’ Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



'I absolutely loved this book. Kept me gripped on so many levels.' Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



'I have not been so drawn into a book for a long time. So much so I sat up for two nights reading it.' Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



“I was hooked on this book from page one, and it never dropped me! A compelling, twisty story with rounded, believable characters and a plot that kept me guessing. Even the very last line of the book came as a complete - and fantastic - surprise. I can't wait to read the next thriller with Grace at the helm. Highly recommended!” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



“I’ve found my new favourite series and I’ll be waiting to preorder the next in the series and catch up with Grace and the Gang.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



“Loved, loved, loved this story. Cannot wait to see what happens next. Will recommend to others.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



“Glued to the pages... the last sentence in the book saw my jaw dropping! I can't wait for #2 in the hopefully not too distant future. Highly recommended.” Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Karen M.

I couldn't stop listening once I'd started. I liked Grace and her motley crew and would be interested in hearing more about their exploits. The author touched on important social and human issues that we are all familiar with: poverty, abuse, addiction, loss, jealousy to name a few. I particularly enjoyed the setting by the bracing Scottish sea and Harvey. Having a chocolate-coloured retriever mix, I smiled, recognising so many of his antics as familiar. The narrator was great!

Profile Avatar
Lisa Knight

It was a great book. It would make a very good movie.

Profile Avatar
Lia Suzanne W.

Loved it! I enjoyed the views of the sea, the paranormal storyline

Profile Avatar
Erika B.

easy listening, interesting, surprising ending

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Really enjoyed book, only wish they went a little further at the end.

Profile Avatar
Charlotte M.

Wow! The ending was quite compelling. Good story. Enjoyed this book- would recommend it.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Great read! Although I could tell from the start who the 'bad guy' was going to be...

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Lovely story. A very easy listen while driving across country.

Profile Avatar
Kelleigh B.

I really enjoyed it. I’ve already purchased the next one in the series.

Profile Avatar
Maree G.

Lovely story that kept you interested.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I really enjoyed this book. Kept me interested all the way through and the narration was excellent .

Profile Avatar
Talib M.

wonderful!

Profile Avatar
Kristina B.

Great “who done it!” Very layered and complex, and very engaging. Narrator is great as well.

Profile Avatar
Lhunny

Loved this book it had so many different twists and turns I couldn't stop listening.

Profile Avatar
Daniela A.

Not into paranormal books

Profile Avatar
Kim P.

One twist I didn’t see coming, but made sense and a second twist that I saw coming, but was “feel good” satisfying. It’s a little bit heavy feeling. There isn’t much relief from dark themes that run through the book, such as suicide; however, the final message of the book is hopeful, the characters are very believable and the mystery is well conceived. The narrator is not inspired, but good; although, her accent sounds more Irish than Scottish. It is a good voice to represent the book’s heroine. Also, I very much like the heroine’s relationship with her dog, Harvey. Overall, a very satisfying read.

Profile Avatar
Kerrie S.

Kept me intrigued.good listeninggood author

Profile Avatar
craig specht

this was good and the narrator did a great job!

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Kept me interested. I liked the pace. Good one for commute.

Profile Avatar
HelenMac

Enjoyed it a lot.

Profile Avatar
NAMRodman

As a serial listener it took me a bit of time to get accustomed to a new set of characters and place. But I liked the people and the story which of course wove personal agendas with the ‘case.’ All in all it was very enjoyable. Yet aI need to say the very ending was so good, I wouldn’t have minded if there was a book two!

Profile Avatar
Ruthless621

This was an absolutely entertaining story, such that I’ll be looking for the others by this author. It wasn’t an obvious mystery so it really grabs the reader and doesn’ty let go until the very end which closes on a beautiful poignant note with one sentence. Wrapped up neatly in a bow. Delightful!!

Profile Avatar
Michele J.

Very good recording. I couldn't wait to get back in my car to hear more of the story. Very good narrator. Such a surprising ending. I thought I had figured it all out. I was wrong.

Profile Avatar
J R.

Pretty good book, but as I listened over a couple of trips, I kind of had trouble keeping track of the cast of characters. Probably more my fault than the authors. Really enjoyed the reader.

Profile Avatar
Mary H.

I usually firce myself through a book butthis one I just can't do it. This book moves way to slow for a mystery. Way to much back story and environmental details that are totally not necessary for the story. The narrator is also very monotone and does nothing to captivate attention.

Profile Avatar
Jcoyne811

Loved it!

Profile Avatar
L L.

Quite enjoyable, easy reading/listening.

Profile Avatar
Sabra G.

Entertaining mystery. Easy to follow. Narrator good.

Profile Avatar
Barb C

A little predictable.

Profile Avatar
Susan R

My first Cozy Mystery and I think I'm hooked!

Profile Avatar
Joyce I.

I really enjoyed this book. Good plot twists. Kept my interest and that's hard to do.

Profile Avatar
Maryellen D.

Loved the characters . Can’t wait for the next book.

Profile Avatar
Susan D

Great story, can’t wait for the 2nd one. Left ya hanging

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Loved this book! I look forward to reading more about Grace and her coworkers in the next book.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I enjoyed this book! Lots of twists and turns. I listened to it nearly all in 1 day.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I enjoyed this book. Good plot with lots of twists. Loved the setting and the characters too. Looking forward to the next book.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

An absolutely superb listen. I found my walks getting longer and longer, couldn’t turn it off. And what a smashing narrator, absolutely brilliant job on all the characters voices. Bravo to both author and reader.

Profile Avatar
J M.

Loved it! Very interesting

Profile Avatar
Gwen Holder

Very entertaining! I enjoyed it right from the beginning!

Profile Avatar
Dave P.

Excellent, couldn't stop listening. Narrator was very good.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Never could get in to this one.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$24.99
View Cart