The News Quiz 2012: Series 76, 77 and 78 of the topical BBC Radio 4 comedy panel show

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
August 2023
12 hours 18 minutes
Sandi Toksvig chairs the satirical radio panel show in this trio of series from 2012

2012 was full of historic milestones - London hosted the Olympics, the Queen celebrated her Diamond Jubilee, and The News Quiz marked its 35th anniversary. Sandi Toksvig is in the chair for these three series, as the team debate these and other top stories of the year.

Series 76 spans the 2011 Christmas period, and sees the show getting festive with a seasonal edition and a panto special, Oh No It Isn't... The News Quiz. Co-written by John Finnemore, it features a host of guest stars including Michael Buerk, Barry Cryer, Nicholas Parsons and Kirsty Young.

With normal service resumed in the New Year, the panel take on headlines including HS2, Fred Goodwin's shredded reputation, gender equality in the boardroom, the Paralympics, Cameron's cabinet reshuffle, Nick Clegg's tuition fees apology, the Edinburgh Agreement on the Scottish referendum - and Hurricane Sandy.

Production credits
Chaired by Sandi Toksvig
Produced by Victoria Lloyd, Lyndsay Fenner, Sam Bryant and Ben Walker
A BBC Studios Production

Oh No It Isn't... The News Quiz written by Kevin Baker and John Finnemore
Produced by Victoria Lloyd and Lyndsay Fenner

Series 76 featuring: Tom Allen, Susan Calman, Roisin Conaty, John Finnemore, Rebecca Front, Jeremy Hardy, Phill Jupitus, Miles Jupp, Fred MacAulay, Bob Mills, Simon Munnery, Sue Perkins, Steve Punt, Hugo Rifkind, Alexei Sayle, Mark Steel, Rick Wakeman

Oh No It Isn't... The News Quiz featuring: Adjoa Andoh, Roger Bolton, Michael Buerk, Susan Calman, Barry Cryer, John Finnemore, Peter Gibbs, Jeremy Hardy, Andy Hamilton, Fred MacAulay, Gerard McDermott, Nicholas Parsons, Libby Purves, Eric Robson, Graham Seed, Tom Sutcliffe, Peter White, Matthew Wilson, Kirsty Young

Series 77 featuring: Rory Bremner, Ed Byrne, Susan Calman, Jo Caulfield, Bridget Christie, Roisin Conaty, Matt Forde, Rebecca Front, Jeremy Hardy, Phill Jupitus, Miles Jupp, Shappi Khorsandi, Andy Hamilton, Fred MacAulay, Andrew Maxwell, Bob Mills, Justin Moorhouse, Hugo Rifkind, Mark Steel, Rick Wakeman, Francis Wheen

Series 78 featuring: Susan Calman, Roisin Conaty, Kevin Day, Michael Deacon, Nick Doody, Justin Edwards, Rebecca Front, Jeremy Hardy, Andy Hamilton, Phill Jupitus, Lloyd Langford, Fred MacAulay, Francesca Martinez, Sarah Millican, Bob Mills, Hugo Rifkind, Francis Wheen, Cal Wilson

First broadcast on BBC Radio 4, 23 December 2011-10 February 2012 (Series 76), 6 April-1 June 2012 (Series 77), 7 September-2 November 2012 (Series 78)

© 2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd. (P) 2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd
1 book added to cart
View Cart